Contemplate the Lord’s Glory

“And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” 2 Corinthians 3:18

This verse recently hit me. In particular, the part about “contemplating the Lord’s glory”. What does that even mean? Contemplate could also be phrased as reflecting on.

So much has happened in just this last year. There is no way I can look back on this past year without seeing how God was moving in it all. I must “contemplate the Lord’s glory”.

Today is Lyric’s and mine one year anniversary. That is crazy to think about. That one year ago today we had that first awkward conversation at the end of the mission school and to see where we are now, five months into engagement and four months until our wedding.

Since April 26, 2016, I have worked another amazing summer at Pine Ridge Bible Camp, interned with Youth for Christ, started attending City Life Church, become part of a life group there, gotten engaged, ran a half marathon and a 25k, had two vehicles, needed major repair on both, and so many other countless misadventures to mention.

Looking back, I can see how God taught me so much about Himself and His kingdom here on earth during our time on the West Side. And then he showed me what He is doing here where I grew up, on the Southeast side. I’ve lived in the heart of a broken neighborhood since early September and have been blessed in so many ways. I’ve learned numerous lessons about God’s character and what it means to follow Him.

Now, with the possibility to live on the West Side again, I can see how the Lord used this year away to continue to stretch and grow me. In ways only He could, I ended up outside of my comfort zone way too many times. I feel much more than one year older.

Lyric and I have been immensely blessed to call City Life Church home. It is very similar to the church we grew up at in many ways. We’ve met many new people and been able to get poured into by participating in a life group. The topic of our life group was Gender, Race, and Poverty, which broadened our beliefs about women in ministry and what it looks like to interact with others at our church, which is very diverse in every sense of the word. We’ve learned and grown so much in the short time we’ve been there. We are already considered City Lifers. 🙂

The Lord is so good and so very faithful. There have definitely been times volunteering with Youth for Christ and working at the bakery when I have wondered why God has me there. Sometimes in the moment it is hard to make sense of it, but when I look back, it is impossible to get to where I am today without reflecting on the goodness of God and His glory.

Lyric and myself have truly been, and will continue to be, transformed into His image. It is definitely not comfortable all/most of the time. But it was never for our own glory anyway.


Thank goodness for that.

Leave a Reply

