Trying Times

Injuries are annoying. My left foot has been hurt the past week and a half. Honestly, it has been some of the hardest and most trying times of my life. I know that may sound trivial, but for me it’s a big deal. When you are used to running every day, even just one day without a run leaves me feeling like I’m missing something. It has become part of my everyday routine. So to go a whole week and a half without a run is pretty dang hard.

Also, I am in charge of leading the leadership track of my school (Bridge Street Mission School) in our training for a half-marathon on April 30th. But how can one do that while not being able to do the very thing one is training for, running?

When I was first asked to head up this training, I was committed to leading first by example. In other words, I was the first one up in the morning and the last back. I would train the hardest and run the most miles. Not for my sake (I’ve ran a marathon, half-marathon and 25k) but to set the precedent for my teammates to follow. But now I can’t do any of that.

But I believe this frustrating injury is a blessing in disguise. You know that verse, “Consider it pure joy when you face trials of many kinds”? Although James is not talking about running at all, he might as well be. In the next verse he says we should consider trials and temptations joy, “because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”

My injury has definitely done that.

So I’ve been relegated to the sidelines, instead leading our training through encouragement. Because God has taken away this thing I love, I have been forced to inspire others instead through my example of not getting frustrated and having a good attitude about it.

Also, while not being able to run I have applied the oft-stated phrase, “You don’t know what you got till it’s gone.” That statement has never been more true. I have always taken my ability to run for granted. Now, because I can’t run, I have realized how very much I enjoy it and miss it and what a gift it is from God. I’ve realized how very blessed I am to be able to run and do this thing I love. God has been teaching me many new things about gratitude.

It hasn’t been easy and I haven’t been the perfect example along the way, but God is definitely producing perseverance through this. He’s teaching me how to lead in new ways, gratitude, and perseverance. As one of our speakers stated, “Go God!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sending happy positive get better vibes your way. Have a beautiful Easter!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Susan Pries says:

    God always has a reason and for those who love Him, it will work out for the good! Keep trusting Him! I know it must be hard right now, but keep persevering – it builds character and gives hope. Romans 5:4,5

    Like

Leave a Reply

