Confessions of a Pastor’s Kid

Before we get too far, let me put this out there. I love being a PK (Pastor’s Kid). It comes with many perks: all the leftovers from church meals, keys to the building, and a feeling of importance and prominence. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I love that my dad has the opportunity to do what he loves and we can join him in leading our church.

But, being a PK isn’t all glamor and glitter.

Here are some of my confessions as a pastor’s kid.

I’m Not Perfect.

Hard to believe, I know. But seriously, I’m no different from anyone else. Often times, just because the only time people see me is when I’m at church with a smile on my face and volunteering, they think I have it all together. Well, news flash, I am not perfect. Many times I have put on a “everything’s great” face at church while I’m struggling at home. I’ve come to realize that often times the people who seem to have it all together are actually the most broken. We know how to live a double life.

I Sin. 

Yep, even those of us who seem to have it all together still sin. I struggle with the same things you do. I’ve cussed. I’ve hated my brother. I’ve lusted. Name any commandment you can think of and I’ve broken it. “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” says Romans 3:23.

I Need Jesus, Too. 

Evidently, because I have sinned, I need Jesus just like you. I need a Savior. No matter how hard I try, I can’t get to heaven on my own. I can go to every church service, conference, youth group, and Bible study. I can read the Bible cover-to-cover hundreds of times. I can volunteer at every event. I can do all the good in my ability. But it will never be good enough. I can never be good enough. Even though I may look different on the outside, on the inside I’m just like you. I need Jesus. As the famous 18th century evangelist George Whitfield stated, “What! Get to heaven on your own strength? Why, you might as well try to climb to the moon on a rope of sand!”

So, next time you see me or any other pastor’s kid, please rethink how you view us. Don’t thrust us onto platforms and exalt us above others. We are just the same as you. We struggle with the same things as you. We do the same sins as you. We need Jesus just like you.

Now, I’m not saying pastor’s kids shouldn’t still strive to be examples. We should. Everyone should. But remember that we’re human just like you. We won’t be a perfect example of a Christian. There has only been one of those and He died 2,000 years ago on a cross.

I suppose that’s enough ranting for tonight. 🙂

Just please forgive me when I stumble and fall and need Jesus to lift me back up, just like you.

Leave a Reply

