12 Reasons You Should Run A Marathon This Year

Don Kern is the founder and race director of the Grand Rapids Marathon. He has run 229 marathons or longer races, in each fifty states of the USA twice, in twenty-five countries, and at the North Pole. I’d say he is an expert on running, and, especially, marathons.
So here are his “12 Reasons You Should Run A Marathon This Year”
1. It’s BIG. Big enough to challenge you. Big enough to make people set up and pay attention.
2. You really don’t need all those toenails (I’ve only run one and I already have two black toenails).

3. Anyone who can run 26.2 miles can do anything.

4. It gives you an excuse to travel and see a new place.  Like downtown Grand Rapids.  Or Antarctica.

5. It opens up a world of adventure.

6. The world is full of opportunities for people fit enough to run a marathon.

7. It’s better than sex–It lasts for hours, they give you a medal when you come across the finish line, and EVERYBODY respects you in the morning.

8. You’ll learn more about yourself than you ever knew.

9. You’ll discover strength that you didn’t know you had.

10. Your mom will brag about you to all her friends. (Yep.)

11. People will look up to you.

12. All the cool kids are doing it.

If I could add two to that:

It’s 2015, the year that Marty McFly travels to in the future in Back To The Future II. The year of endless possibilities.

You can run with me to provide clean water to people without it in Africa through Team World Vision.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I have this reoccurring dream since I was in my teens. I’m running down various streets. In my dream I know I’ve been running for a while. I’m ecstatic and having the time of my life. I have never run and in school I was always last in gym. How does one start to do a marathon. Don’t want a coronary but would like to see if at 58 or 60 I can make this dream reality. I love this dream!

    Like

    1. ballerinaboy says:

      Well I would say if you’re not doing any running right now that you should start with a couch-to-5k plan. Google that and you’ll find tons of plans. And then you can find plans for a half marathon and then a full marathon. Stay consistent. No days off and always stay with your plan. It’s REALLY hard but REALLY worth it. I would never of run it if I wasn’t running with Team World Vision to raise money to get people in Africa clean water. When your running for a cause and not just your own fitness it makes a HUGE difference! Hope that helped. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the reply. I will tap Google and learn more. Doing good for others is always a powerful and rewarding motivator

        Like

Leave a Reply

