Do You Believe?

That is a question we will all be asked at the end of our lives. In these pages I will attempt to tell you what I believe, why I believe it, why you should believe it, and what we need to do about it. This writing came about after seeing the inspirational (evidently) movie Do You Believe? in early February of 2015.

I believe many things. I believe that my beloved Michigan State Spartans will win the National Championship. I believe that, Lord willing, the sun will come out tomorrow (cue Annie voice). I believe that the pretzels and coke I am eating and drinking taste good. I believe that it is cold outside (that happens in Michigan in February). But most importantly, I believe that “God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). Imagine that. The almighty creator, God of the universe, maker of the billions of stars in the sky, decides to send his only Son to die on the worst torture device ever conceived for pathetic sinners who rejected Him. I mean, who does that? But because he did the unthinkable we have the privilege of believing in Him as our Lord and Savior. By doing that we will not perish (go to Hell) but have everlasting life (Heaven). I don’t know about you, but that’s something I want to believe in.

So why do I believe all that? Why do I believe that God can put me in either Hell or Heaven by the smallest twitch of his hand? I believe that because He created us. He created the entire universe. How did I come to that conclusion? I walked outside. I saw all the beautiful trees, flowers, mountains, rivers, and people. All you have to do to see evidence of a divine creator is to breathe. I mean, how could humans, with all the amazing intricate detail we have, have come about by chance, by a big bang? Even looking at the smallest creatures in existence, scientists have to sit back and marvel at how they tick. If it wasn’t a creator who made all this, how do you explain it? Believing that God created me and he cares for me, I am never left guessing. I know he is always there for me. That is why I believe what I believe.

But why should any of this matter to you? Because of all the evidence in the above paragraph. How can you walk outside and not marvel at how beautiful it is? Don’t you ever wonder how such beauty could come from chaos? Everything on earth points to a divine creator. Every human being, every insect, every beast of the field, every skyscraper, every mountaintop, every valley low. Everything. Also, wouldn’t it be nice to have a purpose in life? If we were all just created by chance, then our lives really have no real purpose. Our lives are pointless. What a horrible thought! God gives our lives meaning. By believing in Him we have the privilege of living lives of purpose. We can spread his amazing love to everyone we know. Let them in on our secret. That is why it should matter to you and why you should believe what I believe.

Now the big question. What to do with our newfound purpose and hope? Consider, for example, that there was a worldwide disease that seems unstoppable. If you suddenly figured out the cure, would you go and keep it a secret? No! You would go to the New York Times and have the news published, you’d tell everyone you knew, you’d shout it from the rooftops. The last thing you would do is keep it to yourself! But that is exactly what so many modern-day Christians seem to be doing. God doesn’t call us to just save ourselves, he calls us to take as many people with us as possible. We shouldn’t be content just to stay in our comfortable Westernized lifestyle: going to church every once and a while, occasionally opening our dust-covered Bibles, being a overall “good” person. God calls us to a life of action and adventure. As James states, “faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead” (James 2:17). God calls us to domestic and foreign missions, to volunteer at soup kitchens, to help the needy, to pay for the person behind you in the drive-thru line, and to show a lost and broken world the love of Jesus Christ. It definitely isn’t a life of boredom but a life of purpose and fulfillment. If you and I were convicted of being Christians, would there be enough evidence to convict? My prayer is that when I stand before God’s throne on judgement day I will be able to hear “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

Leave a Reply

